The almost fairy tale of you and me

If I could be a cartoon character-
I’d be either Cinderella’s step-sisters or
Snow White’s wicked step-mom

I was never a good person
I’m neither proud nor ashamed of it
I’m just okay with it

Besides, I wasn’t searching for a prince
I need no man to blew me away
Nor transform a princess in me

But once upon a time, you came-
flat, solid, motionless- maybe emotionless
like the floor of the earth for me

Whenever I fall, you were always there-
Always. Like your only job was to catch me
Like you knew I specialized in hurting myself

-My complete opposite.
I was danger
You were the safe side of everything

I always choose to not be so fragile.
Until I found myself in watercolors-
In love, to a mythical creature like you

And maybe I don’t know how to love at all-
but I swear
with all the unswearable things that had gotten sworn off-

No amount of apples
or curses or tricks and needles
could ever stop me from loving you

And no amount of suffering,
as when we suffered together,
shaken and broken-

but still together

could ever hold the most beautiful thing
that ever happened in my entire life
an eternal reassurance that-

As long as I live
I shall breathe
In your love…

(We didn’t live happily ever after. We just live, loving each other)

Bluesirie 20130614

2 thoughts on “The almost fairy tale of you and me

  1. i love this part;
    I always choose to not be so fragile.
    Until I found myself in watercolors-
    In love, to a mythical creature like you

    your writing is a pleasure to read

Leave a Reply

